DIY mid-field monitors?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mbira

Anybody seen this?:
http://www.gr-research.com/catalog.htm

As has been discussed before, I'm still hoping to find a good DIY monitor. I'm going to be about 6 feet from my monitors, and I don't have a sub either. Has anyone any experience with these kits, or any advice on where to find plans on something specific for that aplication? Sorry if this is very vague. I have some woodworking experience and acces to a good shop, so that's no problem. I have found my near-field monitors (Roland Crapand about 2-3 feet away) very fatiguing (sp) and I was thinking that more distance will be a good thing.

:guinness:

Joel

Have you checked Wilmslow audio? http://www.wilmslow-audio.co.uk/

I've used the Volt Home Monitor before. The Volt mid / bass driver is a thing of beauty, although I did find the Scanspeak tweeter slightly shrill. Maybe the peaky top is a crossover thing, the ones I used were passive. Overall detail is superb.

Justin

Hmmm..eeerr..dispite the past, and for no other reason other than mho..

If you can get sismofyt, slowblow etc Mr Ole Frost to talk about the speakers he build..which are imho some of the very best sounding speakers I have ever heard in my life..I have been in many a room and worked on speakers from Genelec 1030A/31A´s, Dynaudio BM5/6 BM15, and M1`s..Yamaha´s...JBL´s.. B&O´s B&W`s..you name it..nothing, and I mean NOTHING compares to the "moments from the past" listening to music on Ole´s speakers..

Kind regards

Peter

This enters the WHY NOT? category... maybe not now because my lack of time... worth a try!

Ole gave us some insite on his loudspeaker thinking on the other forum. I have some files if you want to see what he said...