Bass trap/diffusor-type thingy

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Consul

I've been considering something like the following to get some bass trapping and high-frequency diffusion happening in my nice and small room (click thumbnail to enlarge):

It would from there, of course, be stuffed to the gills with rockwool. It's 23 1/2" high by 24 1/2" wide by 12" deep at the center. My thinking is that I could knock out a bunch of these relatively quickly, and then stack, hang, and suspend them as needed.

Also, keep in mind that this is a sketch, showing only what is necessary to get the idea across. The final design would have better structure.

I am no expert, but I don't know how much diffusion you really need in a small room. Anyway, I think it's a good idea.... my friend made some similar squares but shallower and open in front . He hung them with screw hooks, two hooks on top and bottom, near the corners. That way you only hook one panel to the ceiling/wall/beam/wherever, and then hang others below it. It works well, you can change them around until you get them working the way you want, and the fact that you're building duplicates makes it real quick to build.

I'd be interested to know how this works out.

Here's what I did:

IMG_1106.JPG

They got a couple of layers of acoustic tile over 3/4" ply.

IMG_1112.JPG

I figured a good stuffing with regular insulation would suffice:

IMG_1113.JPG

They have since gotten covers on them.

Haven't tested the room yet...

If I needed a cabinet like this phone shelf I built it like this:

IMG_1110.JPG

I also have a 5' diffuser made into a pretty nice looking bench. I cut 'D' shapes out of a couple of pieces of ply and made helmholtz style 'doors' on the bench.

Small rooms don't need diffusion, they need absorption.