help troubleshooting a fender princeton

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seavote

http://www.prowessamplifiers.com/schematics/fender/princeton_aa964_schem.pdf

http://deeringamps.com/workbench/princeton_layout.html

hi ,im a novice i know a bit but im confused about where to go to get my brothers blackface princeton up and running again.about 18 -20 years ago he had an overdrive switch put in and the rectifier tube bypassed with a bridge diode. the tech installed a monster transformer for the B+ voltage and added another transformer. from what i could make out the transformer secondaries put out 34V. he used this to supply the 4 tube heaters (in series??) and to make a -34V regulated  for bias supply to the power tubes. no, i dont know why he thought it was a good idea,maybe he was experimenting and threw in whatever transformers he had on hand. after about a month the amp burst into flames and was ressurected about a month ago for me to repair. we decided to go back to stock. i removed the 2 transformers, got whatever components i needed to put the -34V bias supply back to stock,replaced all electrolytics,replaced two burned out resistors,replaced the power tubes and had the 12ax7,7025 and GZ34 tested.all tested good.i checked for continuity where ever i could through out the entire circuit.
i had a transformer from a dynaco sca35. it had the correct hi voltage secondary and a 6.3V heater supply but no 5V supply for the rectifier tube heater. i got around this by using a bridge rectifier(rebuilt,not the one the "mod" tech did) when i plugged the amp in i got  the correct AC Voltages up until the exit from the transformer. after that low MVs on the B+ and a high voltage( i think about 40Vs but dont recall)on the heater supply(with no tubes).