Help needed with Gyraf Pultec style EQ

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

snipsnip

Hi All,

Ive been looking through what info I can find in the META's and using search, but have a few questions regarding the Gyraf Pultec style EQ.

Firstly, with regards to the inductors, Im a little confused as what values to use. The values on the boards & schematic are clear, but on the Sowter website, it has an 'off the shelf' choke for this project tapped at 269,169,69 &22mH. It says its intended to replace the original values.

Now I understand there is quite a lot of flexibility in the filter values and they can be adjusted to taste, but I am still pretty new to DIY (GSSL, Dual ez1290, Roland Dim D & various effects under my belt to date) and I dont want to complicate matters.

If I go for the off the shelf Sowter choke, will that mean the capacitor values in the filter section will need to be changed? Am I better off just getting a custom choke made with the values shown on the schematic?

Secondly, I couldnt find a BOM for this project. I guess thats because its so simple its easy to create your own. This is what I have done, but was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for cap type and / or a list which shown the required leg spacing? From the board & the few photos I have seen I guess they are all poly... but would be good to double check.

Finally, does anyone know of a good tube to use?  So far my research suggests telefunken or mullard. Are there any good reputable places to hunt these down in the UK (or europe)?

Thanks a lot.
Jake

BTW - Is there a pultec help thread out there that I  cant find?

Drips is coming out with a Pultec EQ soon, if you want to consider that as an option to build a Putec style EQ. www.dripelectronics.com