Mid-side, sum and difference, etc... Tips to a noob?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gemini86

I've been reading up a but on techniques, practical uses and the such, not finding a WHOLE lot in the way of when/where to use it... So, first question is HOW do you encode in DAW? What plugins are you guys using and why? Secondly, WHEN? What type or genre of music can benefit from MS processing? And then WHAT? What do you typically do? Squash the center more, leaving the sides more dynamically exciting, widening the sound-stage? Or are you trying to do the opposite? Cut a dynamics "hole" into the center so you vocals and such can pop out more?

Be gentle, I'm still very new to mixing in general (only been teaching myself for about a year now)...

Man I had a nice reply going then my browser pooped on me.....

But here is what I use http://www.voxengo.com/product/msed/ I like it alot.  To record I'll set up a stereo track and record the mid to one side and the side to the other.  Then pop this plugin on it and it gives me control of the signal.

As for when, I use it just about everywhere I can for a stereo recording, but my fav right now is drum room.  2trk mixes can benifit as well nice tool for mastering.  I'd use this on just about any genre really.

What do I do with it.....sometimes I leave it alone sometimes I squish the mid and leave the sides, it's really a taste thing at this point for you.

Not as long as my first reply but it gets the point across.

-Casey

Any MS plugin will do.  They are all the same. 

Drum Room. Acoustic instruments. Piano.  Any time you want a very natural image.