Mic/DI Tube Channel Project

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

genghiscohen

I'd appreciate any and all feedback on the attached schematic.

The first pentode stage was inspired by a discussion between PRR and blandman74 here: http://www.groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=24442.5

My main uncertainty concerns that first stage, as I have no prior hands on experience with pentodes. I.e. calculating bypass and screen cap sizes, intuition for how it will behave with different input signal levels.

Also, on the output. For direct coupling the cathode follower, will setting the preceding triodes plate and thus the cathode follower grid at B+/2 be sufficient or are there additional issues I should be keeping in mind?

I realize the topography is about as primitive as it gets, but I am after something that has some (hopefully interesting or gritty) color to it. On that note, will the given placement of the two volume controls give some control over the distortion? I'm starting to suspect that replacing the pentode with two triodes with a pot in between them will give me more flexibility towards that end. As I understand the current iteration the only stage that would clip with any pleasant effect would be the one directly preceding the output, which doesn't seem very flexible.

Attachments

• tub2-1.pdf
    68.6 KB · Views: 18
It gets a lot more primitive than that  :)

Nice circuit - should do very well with lots of scope for this-and-that. I'm doing something reasonably similar in my current instrument tube amp build.

Good luck with it.

Thanks Alex,
I'd like to see what you end up with. I say primitive because its pretty much a guitar preamp...

Here's two other options.
As mentioned previously, two triodes at the input.

upload foto

or here's one ignoring the overwhelming advice against loading down a common cathode gain stage with a tonestack.