RB500 ribbon mic transformer update?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

inputhone

hey there, i read a lot about people thinking about improving their cheap ribbon mics with new transformers but i never found anyone who really did it (with a Lundahl for example) and if it would improve anything besides maybe nois floor. Anyone here did that?

After improving the headbasket and and popfilter garbage inside there i was thinking about also having a go for the tranformer to make them more useful (even though i already really like them on bass amps and more).

Anyone?  :)

Hi Inputhone
i'm in the process of modding an SE mic. i'm no expert, there are folk on this forum who are, but I've learnt a few things in the process. maybe some of this will help..
Firstly you need to decide what you don't like about the sound of the mic, that question will then lead you to the correct answers, rather the thinking about generic improvements based on brandnames.
The most important part of a ribbon mic is the Ribbon. you need to start with the ribbon when modding. the alloy is important plus the thickness. for example my SE mic ribbon was plastic with a metal coating (we didn't know this until we removed it!). it just sounded cheap with mid freq emphasis. no warmth or detail. my new ribbon sounds much better and has a different iron content, which means the output is lower, so now i'm looking into a new transformer to increase the step up.
so you can see from this example how important it is to start by checking out whether the ribbon cqn be improved.
also i'd be careful about what you pull out. it is recommended to leave in the fine mesh which protects your ribbon from damage from high SPLS or singers. the holes in the mesh are probably so small they would only block very high frequency content which you probably don't want anyway if you're using a Ribbon.....