GSSL Capacitors and IC selection questions

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

replicant

I've got a New GSSL PCB kit from Gustav, a Hairball meter, Expat Turbo board, and a case from Dan. I was going to order parts from a BOM I found here on GDIY, but in comparing it to both Gyraf and PCB Grinder, some of the quantities are way off. I'm not sure what that person was doing, so I'm revising that BOM, and also starting my own BOM from scratch. I want to use high quality caps, and this is my first build, so I have some questions.

My first questions are about the electrolytic caps. The main difference I see in specs is the ripple current.

Is it better for the cap to have a high or low ripple current?

Does that depend on whether it's in the power supply or audio path?

Which Nichicons are better, Audio Grade or Low Impedance? Or does that also depend on the specs and location in signal path?

I also have a question about VCA selection. The Expat Turbo board says to use a THAT2150, and the New GSSL says to use 2181B. I thought the VCA on the turbo board was supposed to match the one on the GSSL sidechain, so I'm not sure if I should order a 2150 for the turbo board or not.

replicant said:
I have read that high ripple current in the cap is good, so that question is answered. There aren't all that many capacitors in the GSSL anyway, so I'll just get what I think are the good ones.

Try doing a few experiments. Mount one channel with one type, the other channel with another type - see if you even hear a difference.

Also, you will want to use the THAT2180B.

Gustav

gyraf said:
..and please use (and read)the official GSSL Help thread....