Ribbon mic in BM800 body

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LessIsMore

Hi, I’m a newb here.  I’ve done some recording several years ago for a friends album – I tracked up some string (violin) parts, using a rode NT2A, and the overall sound ended up ‘thin’.  I knew little to nothing about mic placement or polar patterns etc. at the time – I did it in a bedroom, fairly close mic’d from 45 degrees above violin (8 ft ceiling) with the NT2A on cardioid pattern.  But it could have just been the supposedly toppy response of the standard capsule that made it sound thin– even though the manufacturers graph in the box is almost ruler flat.

Things have moved on, time-wise, but my mic collection hasn’t – I did buy, and still have a DPA4060 mic with a clever cheap bespoke mount (not my idea) to fit through the f-hole on the violin for good gain before feedback when playing live.  So, I have 2 quite different but reasonable mic’s - a multi pattern LDC, and an omni miniature condenser.  I don’t have any small diaphragm condensers.

My attention is turning to wanting to record our upright piano (once I’ve tuned it) – it has a lovely tone – I’ve got some songs I have to get down, and I’m wondering what the best way to do them is, but in general the stereo recording techniques have gripped my attention!  I may not have fundamentally grasped the best way to record / mix piano for normal stereo/mono reproduction and easiest listening, but I’m thinking I do need some sort of way of capturing acoustic instruments with a better ambiance or just simply a better sound characteristic, which means 2 mics that have similar or matched response / sound.  I could do mid/side with my NT2A and 4060, but the characteristic sound of the NT2A is what it is.