PSU voltage difference?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matta

Hi Guys,

I'm working on a 15V power supply for another Green Pre. I am done but the voltages I get are +14.9V, 0V, -14.7V and 47.8V (unloaded).

It was an existing PSU that was outputing + and - 10V so I swopped out some of the resistors to up it to 15V, but I am now left with a .2V difference between the negative and positive rails. Should this be a concern?

My gut says yes, but I am still a Newbie and need to know. I assume if it is that I need to swop out a resistor or 2 to try and balance them or could this be a cap related difference?

I've fired it up and recorded a couple tracks and can't hear anything different, not sure if I should, or should I?

Thanks

Mattt

[quote author="matta"]I'm working on a 15V power supply for another Green Pre. I am done but the voltages I get are +14.9V, 0V, -14.7V and 47.8V (unloaded).

It was an existing PSU that was outputing + and - 10V so I swopped out some of the resistors to up it to 15V, but I am now left with a .2V difference between the negative and positive rails. Shoudl this be a concern?[/quote]

It sounds like this is an unregulated supply with a dropping resistor for each leg. The difference between + and - is not important and is not likely to have any effect on the circuits connected to it. However, you should check the voltages under load rather than unloaded, and adjust resistors to give something close to 15V on each amplifier supply rail. Better still, modify the circuit by installing regulators. Your amplifiers will thank you for it.

Peace,
Paul

Hey Pstamler,

Thanks for the input. It is indeed regulated, an LM317 on the + rail and LM3327 on the negative, plus a LM317 on the Phantom.