Sennheiser MD21 / 421 / 441 / 409 etc. family // capsule tuning tricks

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

raketenmann

Dear DIY-community

In the last couple of years I learned a lot from repairing microphones. There was a lot of try and error - but over the years I gathered a lot of experience and also know how of the design of dynamic microphones. But still I am not an expert.

I experienced a lot of problems related to the physical condition of the diaphragm and resulting in coil rub or altered midrange etc.. I also found out that AKG mics (e.g. D12, D19, D1000, D2000 etc) tend to have way more problems with deformed diaphragms than Sennheiser mics.

In most MD-family mics I find the diaphragms in very good condition, sometimes dirty, sometimes cleaned, but almost never there seems to be deformation or physical damage. Still, sometimes I run into capsules that seem to have a tiny bit more high end than others, just in the range above 10k, shortly before the response of most dynamis end. I did a lot of experiments with different foam and windshield, especially on MD409 capsule with no significant differences. From all I know, the amount of High end in a dynamic capsule is altered by the following factors:

- mass of the diaphragm (altered by dirt & magnetic dust on vintage mics)
- resonator plate under the diaphragm (altered with sag on old mics)
- resonator plate on top of the diaphragm (altered with sag of the diaphragm)

These informations are based on this article here:

https://www.audiotechnology.com/tutorials/dynamic-microphones