SRPP Tube-Driven Studio Spring Reverb

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reo

Hi all - have been lurking for a while, this is my first time posting.

I would like to build a spring reverb driver using the Valve Wizard's SRPP design:
http://www.valvewizard.co.uk/reverbdriver.html

ReverbDriver6.jpg

I have looked at most of the other spring reverb threads on this forum (good info, thanks!) but I have a couple of questions about this circuit, specifically:
  • What's the best way to implement a drive-level control?
  • I'd like to use this circuit to drive Type 9 tanks, but I can only find them with input impedances that are either too low or too high....the circuit's designer recommends and input impedance between 100-300Ω but the only Type 9 tanks available are either 10Ω or 800Ω? Is there a way around this?

I was thinking I might drive two Type 9 tanks in parallel....two 800Ω tanks in parallel would be 400Ω which doesn't seem overly-high?

Any help is greatly appreciated....I haven't done too many builds yet so this is definitely a learning process but I'm also looking to get it done in the next two weeks so I can start using it. I'll post pictures/info from the build in case anyone else is interested.

Thanks,

Reo

800Ω should be good for that... higher inpedance won't harm the tube circuit, will have less power going to the tank but higher impedance tanks should have better sensitivity... so just look at the level, if it works for you it's ok!

I'd give it a try.

JS

Hey this looks like a really nice project!

Do you have plans amplifier or buffer for the output of the reverb?

Easiest way to add a drive control is to put a pot at the input to the SRPP.

I have a lot of time for the Valve Wizard but he is not always 100% correct. A 10V pp input will certainly make this circuit clip. Other than that it should work fine.

Ian