GroupDIY

General Discussions => The Lab => Topic started by: cannikin on May 20, 2006, 12:58:03 AM

Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: cannikin on May 20, 2006, 12:58:03 AM
After many trials (explosions and hair pulling) I finally got my 101 cards racked.

Wow I really like the sound of these... The Triad A67j and HS-66 Help in that regard :razz:

(http://homepage.mac.com/cannikin/.Public/SpectraSonics/SS1.jpg)

(http://homepage.mac.com/cannikin/.Public/SpectraSonics/SSback.jpg)

(http://homepage.mac.com/cannikin/.Public/SpectraSonics/SSside.jpg)

(http://homepage.mac.com/cannikin/.Public/SpectraSonics/SStop.jpg)

Thanks To Matta, Neeno, Joe (JLM) and Everyone else that helped to set me straight on this project!
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: guavatone on May 20, 2006, 12:32:21 PM
Nice work.  I had some caps blow up and make a mess on my first jlm power pcb.  how do they sound?
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: fum on May 20, 2006, 01:33:10 PM
well, it's kindof a loud pop, followed by some sizzle as the liquid comes out.

 :razz:

ju
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: da_ardvark on May 20, 2006, 01:44:03 PM
:shock:

Killer job. Very clean wiring and cool chassis

Congrats and enjoy ;^)

Denny
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: guavatone on May 20, 2006, 04:33:54 PM
Quote from: "fum"
well, it's kindof a loud pop, followed by some sizzle as the liquid comes out.


ha, ha, ha......ha
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: Neeno on May 21, 2006, 05:11:01 AM
David !
This is some seriuous DIY racking job !  :thumb:
Well done dude !  :grin:

P.S.:
Did you fixed the grounding problem ?
How did you connected your input xformer ? 150:600 or 600:600 ?
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: cannikin on May 22, 2006, 09:16:14 PM
Hey thanks Guys.

Neeno -

I wired the input 1:1 600 Ohm

The grounding issue was not problem after connecting the 101 ground wires as in matta's diagram.

For The output transformer as soon as I connected one of the primaries to ground - I instantly had sound.. which was cool.

I got a couple more I have to wire up.. this time I'm adding the 1K dual Log that Joe suggested.

do you guys have any suggestions for the clicking sound when changing the feedback resistor using the rotary switch?

thanks again
David
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: matta on May 30, 2006, 05:09:50 PM
Hey David,

Well done! They look great. Sorry I didn't respond sooner, been on tour and having Forum withdrawl.

What a neat job! The rack is sweet indeed. I'm glad you got it all worked out.

So do you like they sound? I love mine... I just wish I could get them back, loaned them to a friend and waiting for them to come home.

Cheers

Matt
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: 3nity on April 05, 2008, 11:33:09 PM
Hey i'm here racking mines.....i'm using OEP input and wondering few things like using an output transformer and a Rev Log in there?

Would any 600:600 output work? and a 50K Rev log would be okay?

thanks.
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: cannikin on April 05, 2008, 11:39:13 PM
I pretty sure any 1:1 600 output will rock, it just depends what flavor you want.    Not sure about the 50K reverse log though,  I used exactly what Joe told us to do... 1k dual audio on input,  it worked amazingly, after that I didn't have the need to do anything else.

if you haven't experienced the SS yet.. your gonna really dig these.
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: 3nity on April 05, 2008, 11:41:53 PM
that was fast!
I have some MCI output ones on sigth and....1K dual on input?
how did you wire it? did you leaved in the resistors in the feedback gain?
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: 3nity on April 05, 2008, 11:48:20 PM
I just figured it about the 1K dual...now do i still need the 3 resistors from Pin K to Feedback (L)
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: cannikin on April 06, 2008, 12:19:29 AM
I think this is the thread you need:

http://www.groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=325139#325139

everything I know is in hear somewhere.
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: 3nity on April 06, 2008, 05:59:12 PM
i read that a few times but it seems that people used only the resistors switch.
anyways. i cant find any dual 1k audio pot.
any clues?
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: cannikin on April 06, 2008, 06:10:07 PM
Digikey (the expensive one): KKA1021S28-ND

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail?name=KKA1021S28-ND

Mouser (the cheap one):313-2420F-1K

http://www.mouser.com/Search/ProductDetail.aspx?qs=cKOXzvobiMsss0dP809OSw%3d%3d

 :thumb:
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: 3nity on April 06, 2008, 07:38:41 PM
yeah! i cant order from Mouser neither wont spend 30 or more for a pot.
I'm gonna use a 50K Log pot.!
Thank you.
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: rafafredd on April 06, 2008, 09:14:17 PM
Quote
The grounding issue was not problem after connecting the 101 ground wires as in matta's diagram.


Any link to the said diagram? I´ve heard these things are hard to ground properly...
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: cannikin on April 06, 2008, 09:29:34 PM
Spectra Sonics 101 Grounding Scheme  

page 2 of the thread

http://www.groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=11466&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: 3nity on April 15, 2008, 05:16:40 PM
David...is there any change in sound when changing the 200 or 220uf electrolytics??
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: RedNoise on April 16, 2008, 03:49:02 AM
wow , good looking unit...Triad should really help
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: cannikin on April 16, 2008, 09:41:41 PM
Quote from: "3nity"
David...is there any change in sound when changing the 200 or 220uf electrolytics??


I don't think so but I used Atoms which were the same exact value as the originals on board.
Title: Finished Racking My Spectra Sonics 101 Cards
Post by: 3nity on April 16, 2008, 09:52:38 PM
Thanks David i have them but only had enough Phillips for one board so in the other i'll use Nichicon.