Talkback system malfunction

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Larry Sheehan

Talkback on my console has EXTREMELY low gain. It used to be fine, and could be heard OK despite the number of busses, auxes it was routed to.

Now, with no other audio being played, I can just barely hear when I tap directly on the mic. I have an oscilloscope (newly acquired), and can see a 1K sine wave arriving at the opamp when I inject it at the mic leads. I probed the other pins on the opampm and don't see the signal on any other pins. I think my next step is to verify that the opamp has V+ and V-. If it does, can I assume that the opamp is dead?

As you can tell I'm pretty new at this. I do have a schematic of the master section and the talkback circuitry is outlined on the PCB. All devices are clearly markled on the PCB as well, so if I can just remain logical in my approach, I should be able to find this.

> can I assume that the opamp is dead?

Maybe its output is shorted. Or the wire to the TB gain control broke. Or a cap dried up.

If the chip is socketed, pull it out, inject signal to the opamp's output pin-hole. If that squeals all your TB outputs, check opamp power pins, then replace the chip. There are logical ways to go about this, but since the total TB system cost is about $1.50, and there is no "vintage sound" that needs preservation, blind wholesale parts replacement is a sane option.

Welcome to the lab, Larry.

You don't say what type of console; -that might help. Other pertinent information might be what type of mic is it? -Electret is a decent assumption, though it would be nice to have that info. (nothing stops stabbing round in the dark quicker than turning a light on! :wink: )