"linear"power supply "roundtable"

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian Roth

Many of us prefer a "linear" power supply versus a "switcher" for audio applications, although the latter do offer some advantages, with newer designs running at frequencies well-outside the audio passband. However, that should be another thread here.

I'm a relatively newbie in this forum, but I did briefly skim the "power supply Meta" listings, but nothing jumped off the screen at me like what I want to discuss.

I have approx. 35 years of experience with linear supplies as used in pro audio gear, which would be a bazillion circuits designed by others, and a few jillion <g> power supplies that I had to concoct for my own designs.

Perhaps this has already been talked to death in other threads...tell me where, and I'll either add comments, or just shut up <g>.

In the meantime, I submit the following link. It's a scan from my 1982 National Semiconductor "Voltage Regulator Handbook", and discusses the CORE elements...power transformer, rectifiers, and "reservoir" capacitor.

(Sidebar: I found NO copyright info ANYWHERE in my paper copy ( a 200+ page book) which originally was distributed by National in 1982...I guess they were eager to share their knowledge. Hence, I don't see any reason why I can't share the document).

http://www.brianroth.com/library/national-ps-design.pdf

A couple of off-list discussions (here and elsewhere) tends to make me believe there is a lack of "the fundamentals" on this topic.

I would love to expand this discussion, and starting with the AC mains, then moving onwards.

These are a FEW topics that I *believe* that I know, and would like to discuss in depth:

I. AC Mains
A. Branch circuits
B. Proper wiring, switching, and fusing
C. Compensating for AC mains "sags"

II. Mains to power supply transformer
A. Iron core vs. torroids