harp pickups

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

garf

I am a newbie to this group, but have been doing home recording of my wifes harp for about 4 years. Just recently I heard a recording done by Kim Robertson ( http://www.gourd.com/amainframe.html?134A.HTML&2 ) that was done NOT with mics & preamps, but with a pickup per string (34 in all). I was really shocked at the clarity of this, and am having the urge to try modifying one of my wifes harps.

So the question is, where can I buy the pickups where (i presume) the string passes through the pickup. And does anyone know of the best glue or attachment techniques for this.

Its also possible to have Dave Kortier Harps do this, but at $800 + shipping and crating its currently beyond my means.

--thanks for any advice you can offer

do you have any info on the work the guy you mentioned does?

Kinda hard to imagine that the pickup would output line level, but I suppose anything is possible.

If you go to a guitar shop, there are several types of pickups designed for acoustic guitars which you could look into, one in particular mounts beneath the bridge, you could see about attaching a few to a harp and running them into a direct box. I think youd neeed to pay attention to how they get mounted (they are held into the guitar by the pressure of the strings down on the bridge) as they are going to react to the vibration of the wood so if you glue them you might actually damp the frequency response (which could be either a good or bad thing).

those things arent cheap though, if that dude installs 34 independant pickups with amplifiers you might find yourself speanding at least that much money on a DIY project to achieve similar results.