new g9 ht problems

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pahstah

hi,
i just finished my first g9 nd i took some quick measure:

12v and 48v are fine but on ht i found only 220v (with tubes on).. and i don't have a clue (such a newestbie); what it could be? tl 783 or power caps?

paolo

Paolo,

I am not an expert by any means on this, but I am having the same problem as you are having. These are some of the possible causes I have gathered/learned:
1. The transformer(s) you are using do not deliver enough current to make the step up from 15V to 230VAC when loaded by the tubes. Make shure you use at least 30VA transformers. (most likely cause)
2. The 100K 2W resistor goes funky when subjected to high voltages. Most resistors are not rated to operate at more than 200V. (more likely the cause)
3. There is a bad zener that clamps the output voltage. Zener are pretty tough though. (unlikely cause)
4. There is too much load caused by a component hanging off the HT rail such as a capacitor dying, but not dead yet.

Tamas

hi Tamas,

i've checked without tubes and i've foun:
ac voltage at transformer 220 v, voltage at c14 289v, and at c15 280v.. it seems like tl 783 doesn't regulate..
when i put tubes in sockets all the voltages drop to 200v ac and 220v dc...

paolo

[quote author="pahstah"]...ac voltage at transformer 220 v, voltage at c14 289v, and at c15 280v.. it seems like tl 783 doesn't regulate..
paolo[/quote]

Without some load (least a 5ma current draw) the TL783 will not regulate. Put at least two tubes in there when you test.

[quote author="tk@halmi"]Without some load (least a 5ma current draw) the TL783 will not regulate.[/quote]

Actually, that's 15mA minimum for the 783.

Peace,
Al.

[quote author="Jazzy_Pidjay"]i have the same "low" voltage !

HT about 208v when the 4 tubes are pluged in.

The two main trafo are 30VA

:?: :?: :?: