help a newbie tweak a Tube Pre.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cactus

i'm new to the diy schiz, but would like to start learning.

i'm hoping there are some mods i can do to make this Pr*sonus preamp sound different (i don't have tone preference, i just want experience), and help me learn a little about electronics in the process.

so if you see anything that could be improved upon, please shout it out. i don't know about electronics, but i follow directions well. and i solder well.

thanks.
here are some pics i took of the beast. and i have no schematic.
www.anicorettenightmare.com/tapeop/PTP1.jpg
www.anicorettenightmare.com/tapeop/PTP2.jpg

Well first, one would really need to see a schematic. Second, It looks like it would be hard to work on with those resistors being miniature. its probably a dual trace board too.

I don't think this would be a good thing to try and make "sound better".

If I were you I would get some kind of mic pre kit like the hamptone. or try making one of the simpler projects around here like the green pre.

good luck.

Yeah, man forget about the BlueTube... Isn´t it a BlueTube?

I have one of this and I can say it´s CRAP CRAP CRAP.
VERY NOISY.

Just sell it and put your money on nice DIY gear.

That's got to be the newer of the Presonus tube preamps. I just finished modifying the EQ3B, and this looks similar in layout and component choices. You won't get a schematic for this--Presonus won't give them out. (I'm not sure why--it's not like this is some revolutionary new design that they've come up with)