DBX 2150A/2252

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

poomka

Hello,

I have the opportunity to buy the following non used DBXs components

DBX 2150A (VCA) : 13$
DBX 2252 (RMS Detector) : 12$

I have the project to realise a G4000, I understood I can use DBX 2150A, could anyone could confirm ?
Is the price reasonable ?

Did anyone knows gears using DBX 2252 ?

Thanks for answers.

Could someone help me ?
Because I'm a total newbie, I prefer having a confirmation from one of the Pro guy in this place before ordering...
Thanks.

The SSL comp does require three 2150's or suitable replacement...

FWIW -- Check out the Black Market forum. Dr. Foster has THAT 2181's/2180's available... These chips are supposed to be higher spec versions of the DBX 2150 (DBX actually sold off their chipmaking division to THAT Corporation). I bought three 2180's for $9 a piece -- cheaper than the ones you listed, and probably a better quality VCA... They have the same pin-outs as the 2150, and with the 2180 you won't need the distortion trimmers (they are pre-trimmed from the factory...)

Here is an excerpt from THAT's website regarding the 2150's (which they, not DBX, now exclusively manufacture):

"This is the original audio technology for IC voltage controlled amplifiers designed under THAT President Les Tyler's supervision while he was the chief engineer at dbx, Inc. It offers good performance, but isn't quite up to the new standard set by Gary Hebert's 2180 and 2181 ICs. "

Thanks for your answer,

The chips I'm talking about are some originals DBX ones, made before DBX sold the dpt to THAT, a shop near to my home still got a few to sell.