Im drilling my first rack case tomorrow..Help!

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jonkan

So, i have finally pulled myself together to actually complete a diy project, and not just start a new one. What can i say... I like soldering alot more than metalworking.

Im gonna drill my rackcase tomorrow for my api/neve type preamps i have built.

I have never done this before, so i am a bit scared and anxious that i will ruin the rackcase.

Are there any particular tips you guys that has done this alot could give me, so that i minimize the risk of failing?

Im not gonna use a handheld drill, so that might help a bit.

I have come so far that i have marked all the holes on the case using mask tape and a pencil.

Thanks!
/Jonas

Here's tip #1 to get you started: Make sure the panel is clamped to the drill press. If you try to hold it it'll slip a tad.

Tip #2: Take your time and don't rush.

Tip #3: It's not a bad idea to cover the entire panel in masking tape to prevent scratches.

Tip #4: Apply steady pressure, but not too hard. Let the bit do the work. If your using aluminum, the bit will go through like butter.

I guess that it's. The hard part of making a panel is getting it laid out properly. The actuall drilling is a snap.

Don't forget to mark the holes with a centerpunch. That'll keep the drill bit from wandering.

Use a small bit--less than 1/8"--to start, and work your way up as necessary.

For IEC inlets i always use the method Jakob shows on his website.

http://www.gyraf.dk/gy_pd/1176/g1176_construct01.jpg

It's the easiest way i know. For XLR i guess you need to use punches as they are normally to big for any normal drill bit. If you don't have punches you can drill the hole with the biggest bit and then file the hole until the wanted size. Takes much more work though.

Oh and i always use those for marking the holes (Körner in german):