hum problem in tube amp

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buschfsu

i have a small musicmaster bass amp from the 70s thats starting to hum. Its volume control dependant so im thinking its in the preamp stage.

obvously resistors are easy to check, how do i know if one of the caps are bad? how do you 'check' these ???

did you change the tubes? Do that first. then check the fil hum bal pot or two resistors used for hum balance. You need a good cap tester to check a cap other wise you sub them in.

The change with vol could mean all that is bad is a preamp tube(s)

[quote author="buschfsu"][...] how do i know if one of the caps are bad? how do you 'check' these ???[/quote]

Just put a 47uF or similar size cap (with correct voltage rating and polarity) temporarily in parallel to the suspect cap. If the hum goes away, that cap has lost most of its capacity and needs replacing. It won't hurt to replace all electrolytics anyway...

;Matthias

will do,

i replaced the preamp tube (1 12ax7) and both power amp tubes (6v6) no help...

when i remove the preamp tube the hum goes away. im thinking preamp stage...

I will report back after changing out the caps.

thanks

I thought I was the only person who played a Musicmaster Bass!
Mine had 6AQ5's .
Weird amp. Notice that extra transformer? That's an innerstage. Only music instrument amp I know of with one of those.
That was a werid time for Fender, they hired Rivera to do some circuits, were building overdrive specials, new box out every week, etc.

That amp was probably one of the best examples of cheapmanship gone bad. Single strand wire, cheap tube sockets, etc.

That's an easy circuit so it should not take long to fix.

Call me lame but start with the guitar chord. A bad sheild connection can cause hum.