Tube microphone preamps, in general.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Plexibreath

On the other forum I started a thread about the Tube Cascode Mic Pre schematic just to see if anyone had luck building it. The conversation moved on to some fantastic discussion on tube mic pre design in general. When I came back from lunch eager to read more on this thread, I found the forum had crashed and burned and some weasel saying something about us DIY guys ripping off other's hard work. As if.

Anyway
Though I'm still working on my API 312 clone, I have my eyes out for my next project, a tube mic pre. I've been building tube guitar amps since 1982 so I'm excited to go in this direction. I'm starting to compile schematics of some solid designs and have been interested in the Pultec tube pre, the old RCA stuff, and what really spins my crank is the Telefunken V76.

So here's the question.
How would you guy sum up the most classic designs for use. Like what's good for all applications, what's good for certain coloration, little to no coloration. Including designs that may not be classic, (yet). Sort of a tube mic pre topology primer. I'm just trying to get a handle on what would be a good starting point for my next project, I say starting point as I like to evolve the designs I do, keeps the fun in it.

Thanks,
Kelley

A personal favorite of mine is the Ampex 351. It's a unit that exhibits more size than color. Fast enough for hard rockin' drums, quiet enough for accoustic passages. I did a couple sessions at Steve Albini's Electrical Audio. That is where I first saw and heard these beautiful beasts. I was 21 and fresh out of recording school. I learned so much in a non-stop weekend of tracking. I learned techniques, but more importantly I heard the gear for the first time. Their 351's have been gone through and simplified. Check them out.