G7 PSU Help Needed

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

reggie

Hello,

now I just finished building my G7 mic and the psu, unfortunately they don´t work yet ;-((
I suspect the psu because I could not measure any 9VAC or 6V DC for the heater, nor the 120 VAC. I measured the Voltage where it goes to the pcb from the transformers, being a newbie, I put one wire from the Multimeter to one of the 9VAC solderpoints, the other one to the chassis, I hope I measured that right? I guess I should get 9VAC from each of those points? And 120 VAC from each of the other 2 points?

So I think I made a mistake wiring the connections of the 2 transformers, I tried all different combinations, but could not get it to work (I am using two of those blue print transformers, I hope I got the right ones?).

I made a little picture, looking at them from the top, I´m sure any of you experts could tell me the right way to connect them.

http://www.3dmedicalanimation.com/downloads/TransformerG7_Psu.jpg

thanks for any newbie help,
reggie

please, can anyone help?

I tried countless variations how to hook up those 2 transformers, but it never works. Sometimes I can measure 10 V on either 1 or 3 of the pins, I never got 160 VAC anywhere. Could I possibly have destroyed them?

thanks for any clues,
reggie

You should not measure from chassis to the transformer AC, as there is a bridge rectifier between these points.

Measure across the transformer in stead.

Jakob E.

thanks for the info!

could it be, that I bought the wrong transformer for the first one, it has only ONE secondary of 9V (although there are 4 pins, maybe that´s where I went wrong in the first place and 2 sec are needed)?

reggie

Make sure you check the specification sheet on your transformer. Four pins probably means two sections.