Portable Stereo Mic Preamp

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Julio

Hi,

I'm a real newbie in DIY, but I'd like to make a portable stereo mic pre to feed my little Nagra ARES M Recorder with a Rode NT4. Actually, I wouldn't need a 48v phtantom supply, since the Nt4 works with a 9v batterie. But it can be usefull if I'd like to use other condenser mics in the future.

A friend of mine build a rackmounted green mic pre and told me it could do the job in a portable way. I found this pre really good. But I also see this one: http://www.celestial.com.au/~rosswood/diy/dualmicpre/dualmicpre.htm. Which one do you prefer and would you advice me?

I know that the mic pre could be fed with four 9v batteries and the most important question for me at the moment is to know how long it could last with it. Do you know, perhaps, other types of battery that would work better?

Thanks for your respones,

Chears,

Julien

The reasoning for the above project was simplicity and ease of component avalibility ... at the time ... and success of the project even for a beginner.

Most Mic-pres will probably work with 4 x 9volt batteries to make +/-18volts

How long it will last depend on many things,
the chosen batteries
idle currents for the Mic-pre
Load on the Mic-pre from the next stage
and more

It is very possible to make Mic-pres using descrete components to minimise the energy waistage ... or to use low power IC's
... also possible is to use a single battery and add a DC to DC convertey to make the rail or rails required
... like most of the News gathering gear (ENG) out there ... the Nagra

both the SSM2017/2019 OR the GreenMk1 are great choices for a first time portable Mic-pre.

the first question to answer could be
how much gain do you think you might need ??
for loud News stuff either is good
for Drama and natural sound I might swing to the Green