modifying a circuit for trafo-less output

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jstark

I'm a college student.  I'm poor.  Transformers are the bane of my DIY existence.  I want to build circuits without them.

So, modifying the Country Hick DI, available at : http://www.diyfactory.com/projects/countryhick/countryhick.htm
I have this:

hick.jpg

This should work, right?  I just have to choose R1. 

Here's my R1-choosing-logic, please tell me where it's wrong:  The original circuit is driving a 2.5:1 trafo, which is pushing, say, a 600 ohm load.  So the output transistors were designed to see a 2.5*600 = 1k5 ohm load.  Applying this to the opamp circuit, R1||R1 = 1k5 ohm, thus R1 = 3k ohm. 

Is that right?

Assuming I'll never hook this to unbalanced gear, would the cross-coupled opamp scheme offer any significant advantage over this one?

Thanks in advance,

David

move the inverting input to a different node and think about the opamp circuit DC points.

Part of the DI use is hum reduction with the use of a transformer.

After giving this slightly more thought, are Q2 and Q3 even necessary anymore?  They're set for unity voltage gain, so they are only providing current to drive a line.  But now, that's what the opamps are doing too.  Could the opamps just get hooked up to the output of the FET?  Thanks,

David

You don't even need to use the fet. Use a fet input opamp

The coolness of the circuit is how it works and overloads and sounds.

Two thoughts:

First, by losing the transformer you also lose the galvanic isolation of whatever it is you're DI-ing from the preamp/console. That opens you up to ground loops. That may or may not be an issue, but keep it in the back of your mind.