PM1000 * Fugly Edition * with pix

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jed

My first ugly baby was born today. It looks like hell, but boy did I learn a *lot* in the process! I just wanted to thank all the folks here (and the hosts) who make this site possible.

I don’t post too often because I’m still absorbing and don’t usually have much to add. But I’ve learned more from following along on other people’s projects and experiments than I’ll ever be able to repay. [Maybe I’ll go post some DIY recipes…that’s a place where I have some expertise. Oh, and if anybody ever needs help running a political campaign, feel free to ask my advice on that too. :wink:]

I started this project as a total noob. I’m now proud to say that I can generally follow schematics (if not understand why everything is happening), I can troubleshoot a circuit without getting electrocuted, and I can make cases so ugly that you all may need to shield your eyes. (Oh that’s why everyone uses aluminum instead of steel…:shock: )

This pair of PM1000 channels came to me in pretty rough shape. Multiple broken inductors, a partially fractured PCB, and a semi-broken switch. Actually I still need to fix the switch but who’s counting.

It’s all working now and I’m really impressed with the sound so far. I’ve been tracking a song as a memorial to my uncle who passed away about a week ago. It’s sort of a cover of the Velvet Underground’s ‘The Ocean’. My uncle used to build his own Hi-Fi systems in the 60’s and 70’s so I think he would be proud. Perhaps not of the appearance, but maybe of the sound.

The photos:
studio_010.jpg

On the bench... note the guitar amp being used to check for signal output. Yikes.

studio_009.jpg

Fixing the pcb.

studio_011.jpg

The guts. This actually got cleaned up a little bit. No, really.

studio_012.jpg