my gssl smoked on first power up!

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

gerardmanvuca

hey guys, on powering up my 1st gssl the 10R resistor, on the negative 12V rail, smoked! i figured out why its because i wired the yellow and black wire on my toroid to the board the wrong way round. i figured out how to do it correctly from sintecs image....check it HERE.

i then wired it correctly and there was no smoke but none of the knobs work and there is no compression. the board does pass audio but i think i might of fried some of the sidchain. my readings are good for 15v+/- but i cant get a -12v reading. i can get a +12but only in one location.......

i'm a rookie so if u guys have any ideas wats wrong with my gssl please let me know.......cheers guys

thanks for the help guyz......umm i got no idea how to ohm out the rail.....i figured out how to measure the volts and resistance and using the beep thing to check connections but thats as far as i got. i'm at a bit of a loss as to wat pins to check, pos?neg? where do i start from, the reg maybe?

"Ohm out rail" simply mean a -12V poin on the PCB. With unit OFF, measure the resistance there referenced to ground. I "ohm out" every rail before powering up any piece of gear.

ok i replaced the 12v regulators, the tl072, tl074 and its still not compressing or doing anything when i turn the knobs. i noticed that when i took out the tl072 the audio got much louder. any ideas wat that could mean? all the VCAs are workin. the led on the control panel works but none of the knobs..........can anyone advise me on wat to try next....thanx

i have been checkin them and they are all shiny, no blobs, 100% no shorts......somthing is weird here..........uggh.....this suks.....i'm at a loss.....maybe i should just pull the sidechain and start it again..