My 5.1 passive balanced attenuator/muter

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

undertone

Hi all. I'm posting this for a number of reasons. First off, I'm not an engineer, just a handy musician with enough knowledge to design and assemble simpler analog circuitry. I built this particular unit because I couldn't find anything that would do this at a price I was ready to pay. It works for me but I'd like a professional's assessment on it's inherent design flaws, as I may have overlooked some issues. I've also noted people on different forums posting requests for similar circuits, so for the benefit of all, here it is. Perhaps some will come up with more clever ways of optimizing the design... or shoot it down completely! BTW: I want to thank this community for providing a valuable resource of shared information. There's a lot of very generous knowledgeable people here. Many many thanks!

The circuit is a 5.1 passive balanced attenuator and muter whose design spec was:

-To be used between a sound card whose balanced outs are stable even if shorted, and the balanced input stage of active monitors. In my case, the card is an RME Multiface and 5 Dynaudio BM6A active monitors + sub.
-Must provide muting to each group (L/R, C, S, rL/rR) as well a master mute for all.
-Must provide 3 static switch selectable attenuation levels: -20 dB-FS = 83 dB-SPL / -14 dB-FS = 83 dB-SPL / -12 dB-FS = 83 dB-SPL. These are K-meter levels I'm used to working with. See this page for details.
-Each calibrated level must provide adjustment for each of the channels through trimmers (6*3 = 18 trimmers)
-Must also provide an additional switchable setting with pot-controlled variable gain for each group, for uncalibrated casual setting.
-The attenuation network must preserve CMRR as much as possible and not attenuate Fq within the audio band.