Universal Bargraph driver - led meter for SSL9k, GSSL

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ephrem

Hello everyone,

Please find here gerbers files for Universal Bargraph driver SSL9k :wink: .

This is a precision full wave peak detector.
I did not find them on the forum, therefore i've created them

http://puzzlemind.free.fr/Ephrem/Gerbers.zip

pcb.JPG

The original design is from Keith & lm3915 datasheet : http://www.beatbazar.com/guests/ssltech/universal-bargraph/bargraph.pdf

I'm not a professionnal designer. I 'm gonna test this pcb soon.
I made that circuit with veroboard. that works perfectly. Really accurate.

The PCB :
ledmeter.JPG

You can download the PDF here :
http://puzzlemind.free.fr/Ephrem/LEDMETERpcb.pdf

On this forum, I see many preamps without bargraph or peak led.

From my recording experience, You have to check preamp output level (0dB at least) before AD conversion :!:

Regards
Ephrem

Usually the line input device the preamp is feeding has some sort of metering; a peak / clipping LED is a very handy thing to have. My First preamps had metering, but I just never really found them to be of any useful
purpose. The meters only read true if you are driving a level calibrated line input.

[quote author="BYacey"]Usually the line input device the preamp is feeding has some sort of metering; a peak / clipping LED is a very handy thing to have. My First preamps had metering, but I just never really found them to be of any useful
purpose. The meters only read true if you are driving a level calibrated line input.[/quote]
I understand what you're saying. Life can be simple (say just one gain-dial and metering at the recorder), but when one additional knob/setting is added then the additional requirements build up.