DIY STORE?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

funkdrmr

I've been pondering this for a few months now, but before I start I wanted to bounce it off everyone here.

For my day job, I'm a network engineer and I do web design on the side. I got out of the web design gig for a while, so now I'm trying to come up with a few cool projects to build my portfolio back up.

That leads us to the question at hand......

I've been thinking about creating an online shopping mall that could be used by everyone in this great DIY community....buyers and sellers alike.

For the sellers, it would function as any other online store. Sellers can manage products, inventory, pricing, shipping pricing and other details all through a web browser. Although there will be multiple "stores" in this mall, each seller will only be able to manage their own store.

For the buyers, this would result in the ability to search through the entire "mall", say for 312....and the results would be all of the 312 pieces that are for sale at the different "stores" within. Along with easier search functions, a lot of the redundant "still in stock?" and "how much is shipping?" questions will be null & void, as the details are plainly provided without the need to search through threads or going back to the "first post".

Of course, many more details come in to play like the payment gateway and things like that....but I think I've got most of it worked out. I would be more than willing to work with the sellers on those options to make it easy for EVERYONE.