Video: DIY Milling of a rear panel

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

owel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uA0xwIE4xdI

Now, I just need to figure out ways to make the whole process run faster. But I'm pretty happy with it. I can do something else while it does it's thing.

looks very nice, why are you carving a spiral from the center out on the xlr holes? I'm sure you are aware--much time, etc. could be saved by not starting at the center of the hole-- or does that method make for a true, centered, round hole?

I'm just a newbie at this thing. :)

I had problems with bits breaking so I'm trying out different things... varying speed, depth of cut, etc.

I'll try just doing an outline on the XLR holes and see if my bits will hold up. But yes I agree, that would be faster.

I'll bet if you just cut the outline of a hole that the left over center of the hole goes flying across the room, or jams up your mill and snaps the bit.
Otherwise it seems like a good idea.
Kelly

I think using a 1/4" mill for the XLR holes would cut a big chunk of time. But that means I will have to manually change the bit, and baby sit it.

The smallest hole I need to do is 1/8" so I'm using a 1/8" bit. Then I just let it run and do something else.

But even if with the manual tool change I can cut down on time drastically, I may try that. (Need to buy a bigger bit though.)

Where's ptownkid? ... he might be able to give some insight on how to do this the professional way.

Owel, you wrote what I was thinking. spooky.
maybe it's faster to either use the cnc to drill a pilot for a step bit or drill the outlines and leave two tiny break off connections and you could pop out the slug...

K

Hi,

For the NEUTRIK XLR holes : Greenlee Punch 15/16 !
Clean, neat, and very fast ! :thumb: