Anyone know anything about camcorders/video cameras?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matta

Hi Guys,

My wife and I have never owned a video camera. We have decided with me heading Stateside next month it would be good to pick one up but have no idea where to start! I don't plan on being a DOP or anything or producing HD content for the local news network, just looking for a good, solid, reliable camera that we can use to capture life's special moments.

I own a Mac and have iMovie and could get FCP to if the video bug bites, but the main purpose is just capturing memories of holidays, children (still to come) etc.

Where does one begin looking and what to look for? Budget wise we could spring around $300-$700USD.

Cheers

Matt

Matt,

I fix digital cameras for a living and used to shoot video for a living. That said, I'm no expert and have fallen behind on some of the new technology. I just fix 'em now - they might as well be toasters or irons!

First thing to consider is the video system used in your country. Looks like you are in a PAL country, while the US is NTSC. If you buy an NTSC video camera in the US you should be able to view it on your standard definition television (most PAL TVs will play NTSC but not vice versa) but keep in mind that it won't be the native system used in your country so you won't be able to give tapes to your friends and expect them to be able to play them in their cameras. In High Definition, the frame rates will be different - 30 frames in NTSC countries and 25 in PAL countries.