Rode NT-5 matched set

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adoucette

Anyone get some chances to use these? for the price I hear they are a really nice addition to your mic collection.. i was thinking of getting a pair, anyone recommend them or have other similar recommendations? Id like neumann KM84's but the budgets a little less than what those cost

I've been using a set for two years, not bad at all, great over percussion and
also pretty cool for acoustic gtr etc.
Well worth the money.
MM.

Well, they ain't no km184's, THATS for sure. Not entirely unuseable, but on the bright side. Like in an unbalanced way. Not as bad as mxl's but don't expect it to be a Neumann replacement. Have you tried ATM450's? A little bit more money but way more balanced curve.

the 450's are side address correct? Might make placement a little stranger for some micing positions, ill check em out though, thanks

I absolutely hated the NT-5s but I could have had a bad pair. I gave them a run on a large 3 week session and tried them on almost everything including piano, acoustic, percussion, drums, room mics, strings. I was short mics and really needed to use them but they were so awful on everything that they didn't get used.

Lots of people seem to like them though. The only thing they have in common with a KM84 is that they are also microphones - that's where it ends. I tried mine about 5 years so they could be a very different mic now. YMMV etc.

Cheers,
Ruairi

thats honestly the first time ive heard of people not liking them at all.. not saying your opinion doesnt count though. I always look for criticisms over praises. I understand they are no where near a replacement for the 84's, but i can get my hands on a pair brand new through a pro discount for like 320 bucks.. probably worth it right? Just to have em..