Faking log pots (API) - Webpage

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

robomatique

Hello,

I was looking around for a 22K reverse log potentiometer for the API clone and came across a site that tells you how to fake log pots, and reverse log pots, with standard linear pots.

The problem was to find the switch and resistors for the switch on Fabios API, so I thought it might be eaiser/cheaper with a pot.

I now wonder if anybody has tried the examples mentioned on the webpage? Would it work? I am not good at these things, but it sure looks interesting!

http://www.booyaka.com/~al/audio/parts/secret_life_of_pots.mht

thanks if anybody is willing to take the time!

Robert

You guys might think that I am crazy, but what if the solution to our reverse log potentiometer problems was a little different.
There are many very good log (audio) taper pots to be had for decent cost. What if I made a small gearbox that reverses the rotation on the shaft of the pot? It would not work for repairs on existing products where there is no room to add the gearbox, but it would work great for DIY and new products.
Anyone knows places on the web where one can purchase small metal or plastic gears?

Tamas

I did some testing and I have dropped it...
Looks like none of that gives the right curve really, there was a post on the old BB all about this. Lost or backed up? :grin:

You don´t need to use the expensive Grayhill, you can grab a $3 bucks Lorlin and wire it to the board, or get some CTS switches, they are not sealed but inspire confidence. Cheap and good enough to the job. Or use a log pot and label it ATTENUATION :razz: I do it all the time...

Ha, gears sound like fun Tamas!

cheers!
Fabio

I never saw the big deal with having the pot go "backwards". Anyone used to working on neve gear is already used to that...

dave