Need to prioritize my list of DIY gear

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ENS Audio

Yes, what is more challenging than building a whole studio worth of diy gear?? Having enough discipline to put a finite list of potential diy audio gear to work on.

So I would like to ask all those out there who've heard and built the most killer gear out there, being that I'm a drummer and will be just doing mostly tracking and very small amount of mixing.

What would be a good a decent collection of gear for tracking/preproduction of drumtracks that I can aquire for myself.

So far Im near completion of my first project (8 ch green pre)
and this is what I have pending so far:

2x G7 pair

2X LA2A (waiting for TB4s/PCBS so this will probably be finished a long time from now)

8x Nite Eq...

8x SSL 9K

4x Neumann W492 (will be getting boards in a few weeks, but will probably be awhile before I have all 4x built due to the hight costs of those darn pots)

4x 1176 (4x overkill for my intended applications?)...(waiting for the next ed anderson 1176 tranny groupbuy :wink: )

Now what should I take off my pending list of projects and what should I add to my list of "urgent diy projects to do"

Thanks in advance,

I think it's a pretty reasonable question that i must consider also
as i have 10-15 1/2 finished projects in the cue

[ everytime i run into a problem or run out of a part, i move on to another
and many stall at the finishing touches ]

I started with the idea of pairs and in grps of eight , 8 extra pres for recording , 8 comps & eqs for mixing on the passive sum bus as well
So i'm trying to pull back to that point and even out ,

the catch is that sometimes the grp buys may not sustain a second
round and one may miss out , the numbers help the buys but it is
speculation , but a long hard question about what does anyone really need