blue bluebird, audio technica 4040, or Oktava mk319

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

hello all. i am looking for a great all around large diaphragm condenser microphone for around 300.

trying to decide between the blue bluebird, Oktava mk319, or the audio technica 4040.

i have used the 4040 before, as well as the mk319 on several occasions. i own a 3035, a pro37r, 4041 as well, so im very familiar with audio technica. i found the 4040 to be a decent pick, but have only used them on overheads and vocals. i have used the mk319 on vocals and electric guitar. i have never used the blue before.

i like the fact that the blue comes with a shockmount and a pop filter, as well as the fact that the blue looks good.

i liked the 4040, but cannot stand the at shockmount. i think it's the worst design ever....

the mk319 is great for vocals, both female and male i have found, but i havent used it enough to determine whether i like it for anything else.

so, does anyone have any experience with the blue or greater experience with the other above mentioned microphones or perhaps something totally different i have not listed?

i would rather go japanese, austrian, or russian before i go chinese... just a thought...

Lo-Fi,

I use the 4050 which is the same as the 4040 just with a pad and high pass and I use that thing on just about everything.

I never use my 319's except on toms every once and awhile. Just sounds like your listening to it from another room IMO. I have heard good stuff about oktavamod.com and you can buy direct from them.

I've heard the Blue used on a gtr amp before, sounded pretty good, never buy one cause I have a pair of 4050's, but if i needed something and it was available I'd give it a go.

-Casey

[quote author="signalflow"]Lo-Fi,