ESR meter kit

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steve Jones

Well, I'm going to bite the bullet tomorrow and buy this kit:

http://www.siliconchip.com.au/cms/A_101187/article.html

I think everyone knows from my previous rants that as a synth tech I just replace old electrolytics on sight in synthesisers, they are a pernicious scourge. I can understand leaving them is some good quality pro audio gear, but I would test them anyway. So instead of being the Electrolytic Soup Nazi I am going all new age and building an ESR meter kit. (I admit a certain influence from the esteemed Joe Malone here :grin: ).

It is certainly cheap enough, and the raves on the net seem good, it even has a bit of a DIY modification following... so time to pony up the dough I guess. I will post a report if anyone's interested.

Hey Steve,

I've got an article including schematic for an ESR meter, that I got from here ( I searched quickly and didn't find the thread), but could save you the dough on a kit ( sometimes buying a complete kit is nice tho =) )

I think maybe Jakob posted it originally ( keep me straight here Jakob =) )

ju

OK, found it =)

http://www.albany.net/~gwoods/esr_meter/esr_meter_index.html

and here's the thread where Jakob posted his shtuff as well :

http://www.groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=2077

ju

Thanks for the links ju, I will compare their circuits with the kit schematics. It is tempting to be lazy and buy the kit :roll: :razz:

I have the older one here at work and also at home ....
we bought a few Dick Smith Kits as they had a special on at the time.
Made them all up as one at the same time.

The MKII .. I think .. has a new front screen and a slightly changed eprom.
Better than the first but still essentially the same thing.