DI-box

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thomas911

Hello!

I'm a newbie to the world of DIY-projects. I'm going to build the SSL-clone but before that I was thinking of building something easier and smaller to get started. I really need a DI-box to use between my guitar/bass and my mic-preamp. Can anyone help me find info on this? Would be great. Like component placement,PCB layot and component list. Good quality and sound is importand offcource. :) I was thinking of making a passive DI-box.

/Thomas

Welcome Thomas!

Wow!
Are we getting a lot of top quality new guys around here or what?

We have two flavors here at the moment, Countryman DI , complete with PC board artwork, and a ProCo DB-1 type passive.

Which one you want?

cj

Hmm... Didnt realize we had a Countryman layout! I'd like to build a few more. I only have one that i bought a while back..

-Jay

Hi Thomas,

Take a look here  www.hansenaudio.se/techpage.htm  the "Active DI-box 1975" you can find here are a good DIY project to start with.

--Bo

Bo, I built your little DI...and I want to say thank YOU! It is so transparent and the point to point wiring was a no brainer. I used silver magnet wire for my interconnections and it is so very quiet...no noise at all, no hum, nada.

I would like to build 3 more of them. I highly recommend this project to get it going.

I actually ended up building the box out of machined stock..heavy but killer.

It is a good one!

(fender jazz bass useage)

Note:
Plexi, Bo has a circuit that is very similar to the Country DI.
And it has been proven for many years.
So you would be building pretty much the same thing, probably better, since Bo is a genius and has probably tweaked that thing to perfection.