art tps II modding

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrphotodude

my bud that has a studio has 4 or 5 ART TPS II units(i pity the fool!).
He doesnt even use them because they dont really sound that great.
I was hoping to upgrade some parts in them. They are "tube" based....with a single section of a 12ax7 at 48v per channel..... a joke tube unit.
But the opamps are mostly TL074's and 5534's.
I was wondering what a decent quad opamp to replace the TL074's was that wasn't an arm and leg to buy(and hopefully comes in dip packages, although i am a super solder soldier and can do soic if no other choice becomes apparent)

Was planning on upgrading a few caps as well.
suggestions welcome. I am only going to do one unit first and see if i can make is usuable.

here are the schems..

http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/9466/255tpsiipage1yv7.jpg

http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/6339/255tpsiipage2jt4.jpg

http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/3752/255tpsiipage3hl1.jpg

i have no idea if these come out as links or what...
i use firefox on OSX and everything is always goofy on forums as far as code and links.....

I had a quick look over the schems, nothing wrong with TL074's etc when they
are set up correctly.
Tube may be a bit of a "light bulb" but just swopping out stuff without circuit adjustments
seems a bit silly.
If there have been compromises on caps for instance, then using some better quality ones
in a LOT of locations may clean things up and possibly some more PSU filtering etc.
See the recent Mackie 8 Bus thread with all the cap changes !!

MM.

i'm sure tube wise...its probally a high gain china made tube.
i refuse to use any of my good stock of tubes in a unit that does not really utilize the tube itself...
I'll put it in some shredder's amp