You do WHAT for a living?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What's your excuse for DIY gear?

• Musician

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Technician

• Engineer (music)

• Engineer (radio/tv)

• Engineer (live sound)

• Homestudio (studio at home)

• Homestudio (bedroom)

• None of the above - I have no excuse...

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

nickt

I confess - I don't work in a studio, do live sound or repair pro sound gear.

But what do you do... eh?

Disclosure: These days I write risk software for a huge bank for a living. Before that repaired scientific instruments, before that was a "pro" musician
(yeah right - on the dole with $25 extra from playing 5 gigs a week! :roll: :oops: ). Always been into electronics and music since 13.
Trying to get back into it by building guitar amps and a home studio. :cool:

I'm a freshman adviser at a college. That's what I do for living.

I also have a home studio, am a musician and have a little DIY parts store. Those are for fun :)

I'm a technician.

Doing less and less tech work these days as a result of a software workflow.

Some of our client's don't even use guitar amps and microphones anymore so I do a lot of sitting around. (but I still get paid so...)

By day, I'm the audio director of a video game company.

At night, I turn on the Hammond organ or soldering iron. Well, after reading bedtime stories, negotiating the brushing of teeth, begging, pleading and cajoling to put on your jammies, etc.

I did play bass and did live sound for a living until 2004 before I started to teach audio, lighting and stageing in a professional school. So far pretty much everything in the poll fits for me. Musician, studio at work, studio at home, I´m teching all our gear, still doing live sound,....

When I lost my job as a television director in late '04, I picked up a hammer and decided to forge weapons for a living.