remote cut-off tube test

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave P

Following the great tips from PRR and others I decided to check out some remote cut-off tubes and share the results.
test conditions: Used a copy of the Fairchild  240V regulated supply with 10k on the plates and 100 ohms on the cathodes and all the pentodes wired as triodes.  Sig Gen 600 ohm source with 500mV on Vg1

The results show how linear the 6BA6 is, after the kink, compared to the other tubes that have been mentioned in the threads.

This is my first try at posting a link....hope it works  http://i39.tinypic.com/15zpg5w.jpg

I'd be interested to get some feedback even if its negative!
best
Dave P

I'll never get one unfortunately Robb, I enquired about the new JJ 6386 but was quoted £90 each plus tax...too rich for me to especially needing 4 plus extras for matching.  That's why I started testing the others, I have heard the 6BA6 is practically identical to the 6386 as I guess you already know.
best
Dave P

> with 10k on the plates

10K AC or AC and DC? Transformer (like Fairchild) or resistor?

Tube current changes a LOT. Plate voltage rises at low current, high GR. In the transformer-loaded Fairchild, plate DC voltage may rise from 230V to 240V. With a simple 10K resistor, these tubes may sit at 100V idle and 230V at high GR. Either way can work, but they are very different.

> source with 500mV on Vg1

Yeah, well, in a limiter, the essential detail is that the output level is (nearly) constant, NOT the input level. IMHO, you laboriously measured the wrong thing.

I suspect the sharp drop on your 6BZ6 is clipping, not clean gain reduction.

Distortion matters too.

We almost-always have to work a "good" limiter in Push-Pull; the undistorted signal level just gets too weak in high GR. Mega-breadboard.