Channel strip design

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StrayCat

Does anyone have the design for thought for a group DIY Channel strip. Best of all worlds so to speak. Neve/API preamp, 1176/SSL compressor, Pultec/sonotec EQ, Iron in iron out, Out put with make-up gain. maybe switchable topology. Kind of a Dream come true. (wakeup) This may have been covered somewhere else, my apologies to greater minds or earlier suggestions. I remember Stephan having a super cool combo box with this idea NEVE, PULTEC or NEVE, 1176 I think. Can we(YOU, since I'm no brainiac) Design or replicate(without ripping off) a stage gain compatible, in the same box channel strip? I think the different voltage requirements alone would be an obstacle from my point of view but I have no real electronics background. I know the argument would ensue over which pre/ compressor/ EQ/ combo would be best but that's a great platform to argue and vote on. Or if someone has a design a great time to shut up and beg for the information. Anyway I just woke up and this hour of typing has me beat. Purolator knocked, woke me up and left right away leaving me nothing but a stickey sheet.....waiting for power xformers for G9's. Stupid dog could have signed for it.....leave the stuff man, leave the stuff! My day is ruined!!

wow you are talking about expensive and LARGE channel strips... think of the PSU.... how about all tubes too.. and all iron I/O...

I think someone here could handle designing a project like this. Maybe even design it so the person building it could select which mic pre/compressor combo they would want. How about throwing an EQ in there as well? Sort of like Group DIY "producers channel strip". Jakob? could this be a possibility in the future? :guinness: