API 325 to 312 Convert! A New Thread.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marc Girard

Hello all,

I just got 2 real nice API 325 cards from a friend.  They're 100% original and I'd like to convert them to 312s.  I've searched the threads and the net extensively but haven't found all the correct info.

For what I understand, I need to buy and install Input transformers (a AP2622 clone).  I'm thinking about the Cinemag CMMI-8-PCA as their made by the original guys (well, OK, the son of the original guy!).  Since they're original 325 boards (not the blue ones, they're green with 2 big orange capacitors).  I'd like to stay close to the vintage API sound.  I've read about Sowter's 9820s too, but they look expensive.

Now, there's some mods to be done on the card itself.  I'm not an expert at decoding schematics.  Is there a simple list, some sort of "To-Do" listed somewhere?  The closest I've got is a part list from Digikey.  I've looked on the net (found a few links on the metas) but they're all dead.

I plan to use JLM Audio's excellent PSU kit and GoBetween switches to keep things simple. 

Thanks for any info and sorry if this has been covered in the past, might be good to refresh the subject! :)

Marc Girard
www.bluaudio.org
www.marcgirard.com

api325mods.jpg

I think this is from Peter Purpose??

It's pretty easy Marc. Just takes a bit of time and effort to figure it out.
I did six of these and so far they've turned out great. Don't use the parts list
in the thread, as there are some SMD parts in there that shouldn't be.

As a start, all the numbers on the left side of the schematic going down with the arrows
are the pin contacts on the edge connector of the card. Follow the numbers and you should
see the parts on your card. Pin 1, pin2, pin3...etc.

Then follow Peter's suggestions on replacements. I ordered all my stuff from digikey.

D.