Different Flavour Preamps To Add To JLM 99v?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vikki

I have room to add a couple of preamps in my JLM99 box, was looking for something with a bit different flavour? I'm no expert on pre's but is the JLM 99 classed as having a Nevish sound....on JLM'S site it says the JLM is Neve on steroids, any suggestions? Just to say the JLM 99s are working very well.
Regards
Vikki(uk) ;)

I recommend one of the api-ish mic pre kits getting around here.

Simple, small and fabul-arific - like the one forthcoming at www.classicapi.com
Along with a JLM Go-Between for DI.

The JLM99V just may be my desert island pre.  The other, may be my MAP preamps which are Melcor descendants.  Call it a member of the 312 family even though it came first, I think. 

Having used API-style preamps with the 99V, I can say the sounds are different, yet very complimentary.  I won't launch into a series of cliche descriptors, but call the 99v robust yet detailed, and the 312 mild color with focus.  I don't know if that makes any sense. 

They're simple to build, and have an array of transformers and opamps that seems to broaden by the day.  It's a bandwagon that no one can blame you for jumping on.  So jump already.

Depending on how much room you have and the PSU etc how about 1 x API and 1 x SSL9k  ?
That would give you the 99v sound, API 70's goodness and a very neutral but wonderful SSL

Marty.