any suggestions for a 3band fully parametric equalizer

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pixeltarian

I want to make and rackable 2CH (stereo) eq.

desires:
3 bands
HP/LP filters 
perhaps "inspired" by a 1081
(though I'm basing that on the VEQ plugin being my favorite software EQ)

I'm new at this stuff, and can't seem to find a kit, so detailed instructions are a big big plus.
I have resolved to keep on trying until I start succeeding at projects like this.

thanks in advance!

If you want it fully parametric, there are basically three possible topologies: State-variable, Wien bridge and bridged-T. Each has its pros and cons. The main issues with parametric EQ's are noise optimization and procurement of control parts (pots). Wien bridge and bridged-T require dual revlog pots. SV can be implemented with dual LIN pots. Wien bridge and bridged-T are a tad easier to optimize for noise. SV requires very low noise opamps. On the net, you can find the schematics for Rane PE17, UREI545 and dbx905 (this one shows how a linear pot can be used)

How about three fifths of a Sontec clone? It offers fully parametric operation in each band with boost and cut, Q and frequency adjustments. This is a fairly simple eq and you can implement just one of the low band and high band filters, as in the original these were duplicated. Modify the low and high band switching slightly to give selectable peaking or shelving. Your ranges would be 8-800Hz, 80-8000Hz, and 120-25,600Hz. This eq runs all the frequency selective elements in parallel, bridging just one op amp so the audio path is very simple.