Thinking about moving.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kit

Hi friends.

Been thinking lately..........for various different reasons, Im seriously considering moving to a different country. Either the UK or USA . I speak a little (poor) german too so Germany could be an option.

What are your wiews on living and working in mentioned countrys? How is the current job situation "over there" I am an industrial electrician by trade, btw. 28 years (Damn, im getting old.) :eek:

I fully understand that there are many practical obsatcles. Its easier within EU limits but for north America........well im a little lost as to what is exactly needed. Green card? Visa?

Any input, thoughts or links to websites that explains these matters are greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

We discussed this when someone else was considering an unknown move.  Try a search.  There are some great perspectives there.
My opinion is to plan some "working holidays" elsewhere.  The feds don't have to know that, and you might be working for free, but the closer you can get to the street and in your field somewhere else, the better.  You will not do that from a hotel or a tour bus.

Way back a friend went on a cruise in the Bahams and decided to work at Compass Point.  He hated it after 2 months.  It was quite a rad change for a Queens dude.

Start banking money so that you can afford to make your excursions, and eventually blow into the wind.
Mike

Due to current economic climate this is a wrong time to move to UK. Large companies are shedding jobs and small companies are not particularly looking for new workers.

I do not know what the life standard is like in Sweeden and the life standard you have there, but you'll be worse off at the beginning wherever you go. You will not have the social network you have and the family support if these mean something to you.