SSL 4K E mic input

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mata_haze

I was studying the above mentioned mic preamp the other day...
it's very basic : 5534 and a Jensen Je115 trafo.
that IS it!
it is a very nice sounding mic preamp and distorts in a really pleasant way..
I think 2 would EASLY fit on one 500 series card...

I am not good with PCB design software but I can provide schematics, assistance, comparison and be a beta tester.

anyone wishing to join?

Best
Mattia.

I'm finalizing a design of this mic pre at the moment. It will incorporate all the usual stuff (like DI, phantom, phase, etc..) as well as the listen mic compressor.
I'll post when it's done.
Dan

mata_haze said:
I think 2 would EASLY fit on one 500 series card...

I'm sure you've thought of this but there is only one input and output available per 500 slot so even if you could fit more than one pre on there you couldn't get into and ot of them both.  I suppose you could put the two inputs on the front panel and use a sex changer to turn the rear panel input female xlr into a male output?

Best of luck with the designs Dan.

Cheers,
Ruairi

i'm making a mic pre based on a similar topology only based on the mic input of a Polygram mixing board. Love to see the schematics of the ssl 4k input.

greetings,

Thomas

Check out the SSL 141 mic pre.  It uses 2 5534s and the Jensen xformer, but the gain control is a 10k linear pot.  Much easier to find!
Bruno2000

schematic for the ssl 4k mic pre : http://www.ka-electronics.com/images/SSL/ssl_82E01.pdf

it's indeed 2 opamps and a 10k lin pot.

doesn't look similar to the jensen app note, the polygram mic pre i'm doing is similar to the jensen app note.