Is there an Altec 1612a mod for attack and release?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dissonantstring

hi guys,
a friend of mine asked me to look at an Altec 1612a limiter and see if it was possible to modify the attack and release times of this unit.  i have no experience with this unit, but i'd like to see if i can at least look into this for my friend.

here is a bad copy of the schematic (sorry) :-\:http://www.altecpro.com/pdfs/vintage/ElectronicsAndTransformers/signalProcessing/1612A%20Signal%20Processing%20Manual.pdf

from my understanding, the attack and release are set to slow/fast on a switch (J3) coming off of Q4 (mosfet).  i'm trying to understand the circuit better and get some hints as to what affects the attack and release timing in this circuit.
the end result to the mod would be a slower attack time and a faster release time (as requested from my friend).

any help or ideas are greatly appreciated. 
cheers,
grant

The schematic diagram is very difficult to read. But as far as I can see, R44 is the one to change if you want a slower attack time.
This resistor is shortened in the 'fast' position. Increasing the value will make the attack time slower.

hi RuudNL,
thank you very much for taking a look at the really bad schem.  i found a marginally better schematic, but it didn't help much either. 

i see what you talking about with the switching of R44 (10K).  maybe i'll have to experiment with a variable switch for different timing. 

does anyone know if changing R44 affects only the attack or both the attack and release in this circuit?  i'm guessing both, but my knowledge is rather lacking.

RuudNL thanks for taking the time and for the help!  very much appreciated.
kind regards,
grant

No, I don't think R44 will change attack and release times. IMHO this resistor will only change the attack time.