API 560 vs Urei 535

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dandeurloo

White Market Member
So, I am a real novice at this stuff. But I have a Urei 535 and have been looking over the schematic.  I am wondering what the difference is between the Urei and the API.  They share the same freq. bands.  I am curious what mods could be done to the Urei to make it sound more like the API.  I am guessing that the API uses a bunch of IC's as well specially with the size of the unit compared to the Urei. 

Any thoughts.

With equalizers not only should the filter frequency centers be the same, but also the bandwidth affected by that EQ aka Q.

There is no accepted standard for how Q is defined for peaking type EQ sections so unless you use the same circuit topology and component ratios they will sound different.

JR

Note: I contacted the AES standards committee about this lack of standard Q definition. They agreed and forwarded it to a sub committee. They later bounced it to another committee and I haven't heard anything in over a year.

I would think that if the output was re built like an API and maybe a few IC upgrades it would sound pretty similar.  Does anyone know of good upgrades for the old tl074 quad chips in the urei?  I have a friend I think who can help me with the API outputs.  Which would add the 2520 flavor.  I am assuming the 2520 on the API 560 eq is in the output section of their eq and the rest of the opamps are IC's.  I can't find an API 560 schematic to compare.

As far as Q. I don't see how the Q is set.  Is that from the tolerance of the actual cap filters and resistors?  I was thinking about upgrading a few of the caps and sizes in the power supply as well.  Any other caps that could use an upgrade in these eq's?