Engineers are troublesome 'expert loners' , says prof

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
typical engineering students would instead break the project up into separate jobs so as to avoid working collaboratively.

Not me! I didn't break up the assigned project.

Instead, I asked my prof if I can work on the project alone just by myself.... instead of having freeloaders  (errr... classmates) be part of the team, I'd rather be a one-man team.  Request granted! ;D ;D ;D

I've been an engineer and engineering manager, a basketball player and basketball coach. I have all kinds of opinions and comments.

I have worked with many engineers and my best engineers were often iconoclastic. While not necessarily loners, they were certainly individuals and not joiners, in any group that would have them (insert groucho marx joke).

Regarding "teamwork", I like to think I know a little about that (one basketball trophy coaching), and it is not about group hugs in the locker room or sharing the ball... Teamwork is simply about you doing your individual job, when and how you are supposed to do it, so everyone else on your "team" can do their job when and how they are supposed to do it. The obvious sports metaphor is football linemen making important blocks, backs running their patterns, when and how they are supposed to, so the quarterback can do his job effectively.

Team work for engineers in my view, is passing accurate documentation to support groups in the right format and in time so they can do their job...  Good engineers that I have known were team players in this regard, just not all warm and cuddly when dealing with the suits. Don't poke the engineers they will bite...

JR